Going to Cash

The portfolio finished the week up 0.95% on the week and 62.89% on the year.

XPP continued to perform well up 16.7% on the week and sits at about 10% of the portfolio.  Any significant pull back from these levels and I will certainly increase my position size.

The portfolio was helped along by ACSO up 7.87%, SOM up 4.91% and IQE up 4.89%.  The only real lagard was TET which was off 3.70%.

I have been listening to Howard Marks – The Most Important Thing and Nicholas Nassim Taleb – Fooled by Randomness, while driving or at the gym (much better for making the time pass that techno music!). Both of these have prompted me to put a little caution into my portfolio and I liquidated a small part of BOO, FEVR and BVXP on Friday afternoon.  This brings cash up to being my largest holding at 16.6% of my portfolio. This may just be a case of fixating on the latest piece of information but I think few would argue that the market might be getting ahead of itself. Of course the market (as someone more clever than me said) can stay irrational for a very long time, so it is a question whether I have liquidated to early or whether I should continue to liquidate further tranches of the portfolio.

It was a hard decision to sell even a small part of these holdings but as they represent nearly 50% of the portfolio selling part of these was the only option.

As for the future my inclination is to push this percentage up to 25%. That said I have fresh funds to deploy in the form of my wife’s SIPP, which is currently half in cash and is slowly being deployed with a strong valuation bias (with the exception of BVXP).

Leave a Reply

